What does one wear on day 19 of Frocktober when one is planning to help build a trampoline in 27 degree heat? One wears a light cotton frock with plenty of room to move.

20131019-190823.jpg
Keeping in the spirit of DIY, I did some renovations on this dress last weekend. I had bought it at Edithvale Vinnies the day before Frocktober started.

20131020-092712.jpg
Optimistically, I thought I’d just run a few darts into it, maybe take it in at the sides, adjust the hem. Seeing as I haven’t used the machine all year, and seeing as we get five-minute snatches of time in between dealing with My Little Pony crises and requests to do painting from the mini-photographer, the chances of me soon a good job of this were seriously limited. But I had a go.

20131020-094223.jpg
It turned out a little less sack-like, but still roomy enough for wielding tools under a trampoline on a warm day. Win! If you’re interested in seeing someone who can do this making-an-op-shop-dress-look-fashionable thing, check out Rachael in Stitches – she’s one of my favourite Frocktober bloggers.

Then I got a call from my favourite local bar asking if I could come and DJ on the balcony that evening. Seeing as I was covered in a light sheen of mud on account of the sweat and the dirt, I had a quick wash and a change of frock to this one from Sourpuss (once again via Kitty Deluxe).

20131020-095757.jpg
It’s hard to tell, but the red dots on the dress are skulls, which makes it an appropriately rock frock, no?

So with double the frocking up, I encourage you to double your efforts in donating to Frocktober. Why the frock not?

