IMG_9603
Photo credit: Tom Hughes. Thanks, Dad!

A simple one from me today. A loose floral cotton frock that I’m pretty sure came from the old Watton Street Vinnies in Werribee before it turned into a Gluten Free shop. Accessorised with daisies in my plaits from Mum’s garden, and my straw handbag from Vietnam that I like to think is a bit tiki.

So just to be very clear, this Frocktober malarkey isn’t simply an exercise in vanity. (What a poorly judged exercise that would be in my case!) It’s actually a fundraiser for ovarian cancer research. I’m spending the month drawing attention to this insidious disease. Here are those facts:

  • Every ten hours, one woman dies from ovarian cancer in Australia
  • Ovarian cancer is the leading cause of death of all gynaecological cancers
  • Unlike other cancers, there is NO early detection test
  • Over 50% of the community incorrectly believe a pap smear diagnoses ovarian cancer
  • Ovarian cancer has a lower survival rate than both breast and cervical cancer
  • When detected and treated early 80-100% of women will survive beyond five years compared with only 20-30% when diagnosed at a late stage

You can learn more about ovarian cancer at the Ovarian Cancer Research Foundation website.

And you can make a small difference by donating through my page here.

And if you’re not sufficiently impressed or inspired by by my efforts, try Kimberly Grace who is running 1km in a dress for every $20 donated!

