IMG_9959On Frocktober 23 I wore my favourite dress. It’s a Vanity Project dress by LIMB in the UK that I bought for my 40th birthday. Every single one of their dresses is amazing and it took me a long time and a complicated process of elimination to choose exactly which dress I wanted. Thankfully I had input from my trusted fashion advisor, Jamie, who helped me to make the final decision. Their dresses aren’t cheap (unlike the rest of my wardrobe) so I had to have a big ebay garage sale of a bunch of dresses and shoes to get enough money to buy this one. But it was totally worth it!

I also had the hairpiece made by Soda Sweethearts who I would totally recommend if you need a custom hairpiece. I wanted one with a bird in it, and colours to complement the dress and that’s exactly what I got.

IMG_9976This outfit was perfect for our joint 40th party (along with seamed stockings and two different pairs of red shoes – high wedges to start with, then my trusty MaryJanes when I’d had enough of silly grown up walking).

The birthday girls make an effort.
The birthday girls make an effort.
Hair flower on head, Frocktober sponsors gathered around - thanks Rod & Bronny, Kate, Tamara, Jamie & Catherine, and Sarah! And Ursula and John who seem to have been at the bar when this photo was taken.
Hair flower on head, Frocktober sponsors gathered around – thanks Rod & Bronny, Kate,  Jamie & Catherine, and Sarah! And Ursula and John who seem to have been at the bar when this photo was taken.
By the end of the night the hair flower had slipped down to be a brooch. With Frocktober sponsors Joanna, Fiona, Kieran & Adrienne and Catherine again.
By the end of the night the hair flower had slipped down to be a brooch. With Frocktober sponsors Joanna, Fiona, Kieran & Adrienne and Catherine again.

So indeed, it was the perfect outfit for a party. But I feared it was perhaps a little bit much for the office yesterday. As it turned out, I learned that dressing up in something a bit over the top is the perfect way to have a great day at work. All day long people smiled at me and commented on my dress or my hair flower and I had lots of opportunities to give Frocktober a plug. The only slightly dicey moment was when I sat next to someone with a bird phobia in an afternoon meeting, but we got through that.

Today I’m sending a big thank-you-style shout out to my ace cousin Annelise and my fabulous Frocktober buddy Julianne for their donations. Two women who know colour better than anyone I know.

To finish I might share one more photo from the party, where I have just unwrapped my ridiculously amazing birthday present from my friends.

DSCN0435Can you see the incredulous happy in my eyes? Ironically, the picture features me wearing one of the frocks I sold off to get enough money to buy the party frock. Here’s the original pic of me wearing that diner dress:

IMG_8824
That’s me in the red.
