Until next time…” I said, about 11 months ago. And now next time is almost here. Time for me to get out the iron* and start planning a frock a day for the month of Frocktober.

I’ve been enthusiastically wearing pants for the past week, and today I even mixed it up by wearing a skirt (which was pretty and all, but most definitely not a frock).

Pants made from the skin of a blue-green leopard. What you can't see in this pic are the matching bows in my ponytails. Always accessorising to the max.
Pants made from the skin of a blue-green leopard. What you can’t see in this pic are the matching bows in my ponytails. Always accessorising to the max.

The most important step for me to prepare is of course to set up my fundraising page. Yes, even more important than ironing*. So I set it up this evening, and you can find it at https://frocktober2015.everydayhero.com/au/eilis. Believe me, you’re going to need that link so I’ll be sure to post it again regularly.

No sooner had I set the page up, than my first donation arrived! A huge shout-out to Andy Bee who I trust will forgive me for not having even popped a frock on yet. But I know, and Andy knows, that the frocks are just a front for the real story, which is that ovarian cancer is really hard to detect and can strike women down before they even know they’re not well. So I’m doing Frocktober to raise funds for research into an early detection test for this cancer. I’ve set myself a target of $1000, which put together with the efforts of a bunch of other frock fans across Australia, might just be enough to fund a clever scientist to work towards a breakthrough.

My Frocktober challenge is to wear a different dress each day for a month. It comes with the added challenge of trying not to bore my faithful Frocktober followers with exactly the same outfits you’ve seen for the past couple of years because I keep wearing the same dresses I’ve been wearing for ten years or more, so I’ll try and find new ways of sprucing up some old favourites.

So I’ll see you again on Thursday, hopefully in a dress that makes you feel generous!

*Let’s be honest, it’s highly unlikely I will actually iron this month.

