2015-10-03 11.23.00
Day Three of Frocktober was what Melburnians know as that one day in September: the AFL Grand Final. I didn’t have a football-themed frock, so I decided to see if I could at least muster up the colours of one of the playing teams. Pity it was Hawthorn playing West Coast Eagles – it didn’t give me much to work with. Not wanting to have to work with the Hawks colours (not to mention still carrying the painful memories of 1989 around with me), I went with West Coast: royal blue with a touch of yellow. I must have looked the part because when I was down at the shops a woman walked past and said “Oh! An Eagles fan?”. I said “No, but I thought I’d dress to the theme anyway.” And she smiled politely and hurried out of the Two Dollar Shop.

Speaking of the Two Dollar Shop, that’s where I got my very yellow hat, which formed part of the dog-walking version of my outfit. The whole outfit was easily converted with the addition of bike pants, sneakers and a hat, as you can see.
2015-10-03 12.19.32

2015-10-03 12.07.29 As I posed by the banks of the Werribee River for that photo above, I drew my inspiration from this woman, who also posed by the Werribee River in a frock, maybe 100 years before me:
2015-10-03 08.58.58I’m not sure what motivated this woman to wear a frock by the Werribee River and have her photo taken, but what’s motivating me is the fact that ovarian cancer is the leading cause of death of all gynaecological cancers. By raising funds for research into ovarian cancer, we can help to prevent some of these deaths. If you’d like to make a donation to ovarian cancer research, you can do it here: https://frocktober2015.everydayhero.com/au/eilis.

