IMG_2530I can’t think of a better frock to wear than one designed by my mini-photographer, which is what happened on Day Twenty.

She’s become obsessed with a few different YouTube channels, including Jacy and Kacy of CraftLife who taught her how to do tie-dying. After tie-dying a few cool t-shirts for herself, she offered to dye me a frock for Frocktober. So I found this one cheap and second-hand on eBay, and on the weekend she set to work.
2015-10-17 09.31.03Didn’t it turn out great?
IMG_2533I was so proud to tell everyone that this was made by my kid. She’s also obsessed with Jen from Cookies Cupcakes and Cardio, which led to her asking for a tie-dyed t-shirt cake for her birthday this year. I think we did a pretty good job of meeting that request.
2015-05-23 15.55.46-12015-05-24 14.04.13When my friend Darling Hat saw today’s dress on Instagram, she said she was having a 1990 flashback. So allow me to indulge you with a few 1992 tie-dye flashbacks.

I wore my rainbow tie-dyed pants until they were full of holes.
I wore my rainbow tie-dyed pants until they were full of holes.
I tie-dyed this bodysuit all by myself. Doesn't it look nice with green jeans and a baseball jacket? (Bonus = Fiona in a tie-dyed t-shirt)
I tie-dyed this bodysuit all by myself. Doesn’t it look nice with high-waisted green jeans and a baseball jacket? (Bonus = Fiona in a tie-dyed t-shirt)
There is no reasonable explanation for why I'm sitting in a tree surrounded by my high school friends, so just ignore the set-up and enjoy the green tie-dyed cheesecloth frock.
There is no reasonable explanation for why I’m sitting in a tree surrounded by my high school friends, so just ignore the set-up and enjoy the green tie-dyed cheesecloth frock.

We were so obsessed with tie-dyeing stuff at home, that I remember my boyfriend Steve saying that as soon as he moved out of his parents’ house and got his own place, he was going to tie-dye all the curtains and everything in the house. (It never happened – he grew up way cooler than that.)

If you’re a tie-dye fan and you’ve enjoyed this tour of tie-dye through the ages, maybe you’d like to make a donation to the Ovarian Cancer Research Foundation via my fundraising page here: https://frocktober2015.everydayhero.com/au/Eilis

Big thanks today to Susan (who I’m pretty sure would have rocked some tie-dye in her time) and to Emma (who I know has a secret stash of frocks we rarely get to see) for their donations. Emma, I’ll see what I’ve got in the way of roses and pens..

