2015-10-23 10.42.31Day Twenty-Three of Frocktober was Red Stocking Day. I wore an old Target dress that I got at Vinnies, a new-ish Hell Bunny cardigan and my super-bright and super-warm red tights.

According to the Red Stocking Day Facebook page (so it must be true):

On Oct. 24, 1975, 90% of Icelandic women went on strike, refusing to do any work at their homes or their jobs. It was the largest demonstration in the nation’s history and shut down the entire country. Airports were closed, schools were closed, and hospitals couldn’t function. The strike had an immediate and lasting impact. The following year, Iceland’s Parliament (now half women) passed a law guaranteeing women equal pay and paid maternity leave. Four years later, Iceland elected the world’s first female President. And today, Iceland has the highest gender equality in the world.

To mark the 40th anniversary of the first Red Stocking Day, today we were encouraged to take the day off, and if we couldn’t, we were encouraged to wear red stockings in honour of Helga, Vilborg and all those other Icelandic women of 1975 who refused to stay home and stay quiet. You can find out more about the Red Stocking movement in this video.

I didn’t manage to get another photo of the outfit, apart from these awkward selfies:
2015-10-23 16.23.35

2015-10-23 16.21.54And then I realised that instead of taking awkward selfies, I could make a selfie with the Toca Mini app on my phone, so here’s the Toca Boca version of me:
2015-10-23 15.57.09Today I was quite stunned at the number of donations that continued to flow for the Ovarian Cancer Research Foundation. Big thanks to Al, Lel, and Fiona.

Fiona reminded me of one of my favourite frock stories, back in the early 1990s when if I wasn’t wearing tie-dye I was wearing crushed velour clothes made by myself. I decided I wanted a short red crushed velour dress so I got some fabric, lay it down on the ground, lay down on top of it, and got Fiona to trace around me. Then I simply cut out two identical pieces and sewed the front to the back, and I had a great little red dress! I thought I was such hot stuff in that dress – in fact, I remember feeling like Toni Pearen wearing Kylie Minogue’s dress!

46f7e94d3357ef6cb6bf7dee75a24a8c.1000x880x1Sadly I don’t seem to have any photos of me in that Toni/Kylie dress, but surely even the mental image is enough to make you want to donate to Frocktober? Go ahead, the link is here: https://frocktober2015.everydayhero.com/au/eilis

